FAQs

How common is autism in the UAE?

Although the UAE has no exact figures, it’s a condition that may affect as many as 1 in 50 children in the country.

What causes autism?

In most cases, autism is considered idiopathic – meaning there is no known cause for the condition. Many studies point the finger towards genetics, atypical brain development, immune deficiency, food allergies and even poor nutrition, but these have yet to be substantially proven.

How can I tell if my child has autism?

There are signs that can help with early detection, with official diagnoses as early as 18 months.  Parents should look for developmental milestones such as smiling and other facial expressions by nine months, back and forth gestures such as pointing by 12 months, and a maintenance of babbling, speech and social skills at all ages. A lack or loss of any of these skills could be a warning sign. Please look at our resources page for more information on signs and diagnosis.

What should I do if I suspect my child has autism?

Don’t wait to seek advice, and follow your parental instinct. The earlier a doctor or medical professional can diagnose a child with autism, the better the chance for improving function and maximizing a child’s progress.

Can someone with autism lead an independent life?

It is important to note that although autism is a condition that can be diagnosed, each child’s symptoms can be extremely different.  With the proper help and experience, many people living with autism can lead extremely independent lives.

أسئلة متكررة

ما مدى انتشار التوحد في دولة الإمارات؟

رغم أنه لا توجد أرقام محددة عن مدى انتشار التوحد في الإمارات، فإن المعدلات العالمية للتوحد في الوقت الحالي تبلغ واحد من بين كل 50 طفل تقريبا.

ما أسباب التوحد؟

في عديد من الحالات، لم يعرف سبب التوحد. وقد أشارت العديد من الدراسات إلى دورالوراثة والتطور اللانمطي للدماغ ونقص المناعة والحساسية تجاه أصناف معينة من الطعام وسوء التغذية. ولكن ما تزال هذه الأسباب بحاجة لإثبات دورها في التوحد.

كيف يمكنني معرفة فيما إذا كان طفلي متوحداً؟

هنالك علامات يمكن أن تساعد في الكشف المبكر، فيما يمكن أن يتم التشخيص المبكر في عمر 18 شهراً. ويتوجب على الوالدين التركيز على معالم التطور مثل الابتسام وتعابير الوجه الأخرى عندما يبلغ عمر الطفل 9 أشهر، وإشارات التوجيه نحو الأشياء في عمر 12 شهراً، والاحتفاظ بقدرات التحدث والكلام والمهارات الاجتماعية في مختلف الأعمار. ويمكن أن يكون فقدان أي من هذه المهارات إشارة تحذير هامة. لذلك نرجو منكم التوجه إلى صفحة المصادر للتعرف على مزيد من المعلومات والعلامات والتشخيصات.

ما الذي يتوجب علي فعله في حال شككت أن طفلي متوحد؟

لا تتأخر في طلب النصح والمشورة واتبع غريزة الأمومة والأبوة. وفي حال تمكن الطبيب أو الخبير من الكشف عن حالة التوحد لدى الطفل في وقت مبكر، فإن نسبة تحسنه تزيد بشكل كبير.

هل يمكن للشخص المتوحد أن يعيش حياة مستقلة؟

من الضروري معرفة أنه رغم إمكانية تشخيص حالة التوحد، فإن الأعراض التي يصاب بها كل طفل قد تكون مختلفة تماماً عن أعراض الآخرين. ومع توفر المساعدة والخبرة المناسبة، فيمكن للعديد من الأشخاص المتوحدين أن يعيشوا حياة مستقلة تماماً.